Honoring NSU Achievements as We Look to the Future

The Celebration of Excellence is Nova Southeastern University’s annual signature event hosted by university President and CEO, George L. Hanbury, Ph.D.

During this celebration, Dr. Hanbury shares NSU’s achievements and future vision with the community, as well as presents the President’s Award for Excellence in Community Service.

The President’s Award recognizes superior engagement in the community and encourages the ongoing pursuit of community service as one of NSU’s core values—community. The president also introduces the newest members of NSU’s Shark Circle—donors who have generously given $1 million or more to support the University’s mission to educate and serve.

Photo Gallery View Event Program

Celebrating Community Impact at NSU and Beyond

Alligator Ron & Ali Bergeron

2024 President's Award for Excellence in Community Service

NSU proudly presents the 2024 Excellence in Community Service Award to Joel Hochberg* and Albert Miniaci on Saturday, February 3, 2024.


Thanks to their generous donations, more than 1,200 NSU students have received a Razor’s Edge Scholarship. This academic scholarship program, named after NSU’s mascot, helps high school seniors with extraordinary leadership potential, giving them an edge for their futures. It has been renamed the Hochberg-Miniaci Razor’s Edge Scholarship Program.

Watch Their Story

2023: "Alligator" Ron and Ali Bergeron

2022: Bertha Henry

2020: James and Cathy Donnelly

2019: Rick and Rita Case

2018: Drs. Kiran C. and Pallavi Patel

2017: Dr. Stanley and Pearl Goodman

2016: The Miniaci Family- Rose, Dominick and Meike, Albert and Beatriz

2015: Judy and Barry Silverman

2014: Winifred and Joseph C. Amaturo

2013: Guy Harvey

2012: Ron and Kathy Assaf

2011: Mike Jackson and David Horvitz & Francie Bishop Good

2010: John C. Johnson and Don Taft

2009: I. Lorraine Thomas

2008: Claire and Dan Marino

2007: Frank Till, Jr. Ed.D. and David H. Rush

2006: Alvin Sherman, August Urbanek

2005: Wayne and Marti Huizenga

2004: August & Toni Paoli, Morton & Geraldine Terry

2003: Jim and Jan Moran

2000: Robert and Millicent Steele

1999: William and Norma Horvitz

1998: Leo Goodwin, Sr.

1997: Abraham L. Mailman

2024 Shark Circle Inductees

NSU recognizes donors whose cumulative giving to the University exceeds $1 million each year at the Celebration of Excellence. In recognition of their generosity, President and CEO George L. Hanbury II, Ph.D., presents new Shark Circle members with a limited edition, Maquette replica of the specially commissioned Kent Ulberg mako shark statue located in front of the Don Taft University Center on NSU's Fort Lauderdale/Davie Campus.

  • President George L. and Mrs. Jana Hanbury
  • David and Nancy Muskat
  • Mr. Milton L. and Mrs. Barbara Jones 
  • Mrs. Barbara T. and Mr. Michael Landry
  • Mr. David and Mrs. Cathy* Husman 
  • John & Eileen Doran Esler, R.N. and Family
  • James and Cathy Donnelly 
  • Scott Colton and Michael Kelly
  • Mr. Michael and Mrs. Lainie Zager
  • Walgreens Company
  • Dentsply Sirona
shark fountain

Our Generous 2024 Sponsors

Champion Sponsors

Leader Sponsors

Wine Underwriter

Bar Sponsor

Photography Sponsors

George Feldenkreis

Valet Sponsor

Beverly and Joel Altman

Table Sponsors

NSU and You

A gift to NSU is a gift of preeminence